California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
9/07/01, 3:22 am

Legal Question


undisclosed defects...my rights

I purchased a 69 year old home a little over two

years ago. The Seller owned the home since

1972. The seller was an absentee owner. The

seller's listing agent and the seller's property

manager were the same person. My agent

worked in the same office as the listing agent.

During the escrow, I had both a building

inspection service check the property and a

termite service check the property. Neither found

nor suggested extensive termite damage.

Today, I had a contractor and structural engineer

inspect termite damage found in the balcony.

It's a complete demo. And one area has clearly

had termite repairs within the last five years. The

engineer is writing me a letter to this effect.

It's too early to know exactly what the repairs will

cost, but my contractor said it could be in the area

of $22,000. Then there is an add'l $3000 loss of

rent during repairs.

Any comments?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search