California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
I am a 2% partner in a California LLC. My title is Director of Sales of my division but I do not hire, fire, or manage any employees. My girlfriend also worked at the company as a sales person in a different division and has filed a case of discrimination and harassment against her supervisor and VP of her division (wife and husband, respectively). I have been informed by my company in writing with a Performance Improvement document that asserts that I was negligent, per the employee handbook, in reporting her alleged harassment in a timely manner (they are citing email(s) she wrote to me) and that my employment is subject to termination and have implied that they will seek monetary damages if her case results in damages to the company. side note: I immediately reported to the Managing Partner the discrimination against her by her supervisor which precipitated her constructive discharge. Since seeking legal counsel her case is (now) centered around sexual harassment against the VP of her division. Am I liable for damages?


