California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
12/11/01, 12:53 pm

Legal Question


Alleged harasser disciplinary action

My employer accused me of sexual harassment based on a rumor not started by the alleged harassed, and a disciplinary notice was given to me. I do not know what are the actions or words considered damaging to the harassed party. I was told (verbally) to behave the--name removed--in the presence of the harassed person and that she does not know about the complaint. In order to take my own corrective action I asked my employer to present me with the formal complaint and the investigation findings so I can avoid such misunderstandings in the future. I am confused and still waiting for an answer.

I was put on notice before even to be aware that a complaint was made, and the disciplinary notice was mailed to my house for the whole family to see. Is this considered confidential? Did I get a fair treatment? Don’t I have the right to know what this was about so I can avoid it? Can they discipline me on basis of rumors started, from little I know, by a third party who I never met? Did my employer leave grounds for second rumor, which will terminate my employment in a shameful way? Don’t I have the right to a written solution for this matter from my employer?

The company does not have a policy on this matter.

Please advise.

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search