California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
1/01/06, 9:53 am

Legal Question


Name Calling On The Job

Recently, it was brought to my attention, that one of my co-workers had told at least one other co-worker that I am ''retarded'' (I'm not). The co-worker she told was very upset over being told this (we carpool together), and went to our supervisor who called the offending co-worker into her office and told her to stop it. It should be noted that I was told that this wasn't the first time that the offending co-worker has insulted me behind my back.

I know that if a business fails to provide a workplace free of sexual harassment for its employees they can be sued. I'm not looking to sue, but for my own clarification, does this apply to a company which allows name-calling by employees?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search