California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Is compromising my privacy sexual harrassment?
At a recent meeting convened to discuss with the parents of a student (whose
sexual orientation is unclear) accused of inappropriately touching another
student of the same sex, it was revealed by one of the parents that the
supervisor had, at some earlier time unbeknownst to me, told the parents
that this student would be best served by being placed in my classroom
because the teacher, me, was gay. This supervisor went on in the meeting,
which I was present at, to reiterate that claim and repeat the assertion of my
gayness more than once. Prior to this meeting, the teacher had no knowledge
of this information having been shared with the parents. I was shocked,
deeply upset, felt violated, and it has raised all sorts of emotional difficulties
for me. Is there a reasonable claim of sexual harassment here and the
creation of a hostile workplace for me? Thank you for any insight you might
offer me.


