California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Can I demand compensation?
I was sexually assaulted by a director of a global corporation at an employee event. I have filed a formal complaint through my HR dept, and they have informed me that the proper disciplinary actions have been taken. I am not comfortable keeping my current job and feel as though the incident has caused me emotional distress. I have made my supervisor and HR aware that I do not want to stay in the position, but I have not left yet. I have tried to find another position within the comany, but the more I look the more I am disturbed about what happened and just want to get away from it. Is there any way I can be compensated by my employer if I resign because my reason for leaving is the incident? I am nervous that the job market is tough now and I wont be able to find a new job - and had this incident not occurred, I wouldn't be looking for a new job.


