California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Employment Law & Dismissal
I have a 2 part question: 1) I have been working with a privately owned firm for 3 yrs. In that time frame, I have never had an employment review but have been promoted. 2 weeks ago I had a verbal disagreement with the marketing director. Her and I worked out this disagreement, but rumor in the firm is that I am being let go this Friday. What are 5 questions I should ask upon my termination? and 2)Do I have any recourse associated with hostile work environment or sexual harassment? In the 2 weeks since this disagreement, neither my boss nor the President have spoken to me (not 1 word); Also my boss has previously discussed personal sexual issues (Told me details surrounding sexual experiences with his wife; discussed his sexual desires for another woman; told me I had beautiful hair while on a business trip; lied to his wife in front of me about one of our business trips together; and told me details about the sexual exploits of the owner of the company with another employee). All of these things made me very uncomfortable but I never addressed them. Knowing that I'm being terminated this week, should I document them first and provide them in writing to the owner of the company? What advice can you provide?


