California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
4/29/03, 6:48 pm

Legal Question


Falsely accused of sexual harassment

I have been accused of creating a hostile work environment under the sexual harssment policy at work. 10 months ago I made a comment that something someone was doing was ''gay'' in the same context of doing something ''stupid''. The person got offended, I apologized immediately, and the situation never repeated itself.

Later, I found out that the person was likely a homosexual, although I did not know it at the time. It was the topic of discussion outside the work environment with another person recently.

The person I originally made the comment to in the workplace has decided that this inceident 10 months ago has been festering and that he is positive that I have continued to make comments regarding his sexual preference. He has no proof of this.

I am currently suspended pending either termination or transfer to another location. What are my rights? T


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search