California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
5/09/09, 10:13 am

Legal Question


Inability to complete Medical School

I was forced to leave medical school after 2 years due to a documented medical condition (severe anxiety) that was very much exaserbated due to sexist and degrading comments made by a particular professor. Although the misconduct was reported, not much was done. To most people the comments were not that big of a deal (just saying a girl was fat), but I and my Psychiatrist recognise them as the trigger for my breakdown.

Although the misconduct was not severe, it was enough to create a hostile environment for someone with an anxiety condition.

Now I owe the University over $100,000 for my incomplete schooling, and get no benefit from my 2 wasted years... I can't even pick up from where I left off. I'd have to start all over again.

The issues are complex but if presented in the correct way, shouldn't the University wave my tuition?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search