California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
12/22/10, 11:23 am

Legal Question


Paid under the table and sexual harrasment.

Hello a month ago a friend of mine got a job working for a contractor. He told her that she would be put on the payroll and even had email communication about the wages she would receive and health benefits. Now she worked for only a month and he never put her on the payroll but kept saying she would but in the meantime paid her in cash under the table. She was doing clerical work for him as well as intro project managerial work at different jobsites. He recently made a pass at her which she dismissed and made it clear that she was not interested in a personal relationship and this was strictly a professional relationship and he apologized and said he did not have a problem with that. This week he made another pass at her and she said it was not ok and it made her feel uncomfortable. He said he liked her and that he couldn't seperate his emotional feelings from their working relationship and that this wouldn't work out and he would have to let her go. Now my question is, what kind of legal recourse, if any, does she have? She says she knows she was doing a good job and was not let go due to underperformance as she was getting great feedback from him, his clients, and sub contractors she was interfacing with. She is not looking to capitalize on this situation by any means. She believes she was wrongfully terminated, however was never on the books just a promise that it was going to happen. If anything she feels she at least deserve two weeks notice. Her and I also are both concerned about him continuing this innapropriate behaviour with any future employees with no consequences. Do you have any legal advice in this situation?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search