California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
8/31/10, 1:56 pm

Legal Question


if a person is removed from a supervisory position as a result of a sexual harassment complaint, can that person later be reinstated to that position if the complaintant is still employed there?


question bubble
9/05/10, 2:11 pm

Legal Answer


Yes, though it's a risky move.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/05/10, 2:52 pm

Legal Answer


As Mr. M said, risky move. I don't have enough info, am licensed in NY but I am federally admitted (and the Civil Rights Act, a fed law, the most imp law under which the complainant's complaint falls, trumps other laws). If I were representing the complainant, I would have her (and I apologize for assuming it is a her) gathering evidence all the time. Lack of proof sinks a lot of sexual discrim cases. In NY, you can tape if one party agrees (the complainant) and I have found those $39 digitial recorders from Wal Mart, and photocopying things placed on the wall, and e-mails, to be invaluable (I do discr cases-Americans with Disabilities Act-same idea, part of CRA). So, the company has no idea what the complainant is doing so it must be really sure before restoring the supervisor to his/her position.

Carol Ryder

Of Counsel, Sarisohn Law Partners 350 Veterans Memorial Highway Commack, NY 11725

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/06/10, 1:24 pm

Legal Answer


He could, but it would be foolish employer to do so.

Terry A. Nelson

Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search