California | Sexual Harassment
10/12/05, 6:15 am
Legal Question
racial slur
how do I handle an ethnic slur made by an executive, of the company I work for, towards me and about me?
racial slur
how do I handle an ethnic slur made by an executive, of the company I work for, towards me and about me?
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Re: racial slur That would amount to discrimination under the law. You can file a Charge of Discrimination against him and the company. IF you can somehow prove it was made, and if it is not just a one time thing, it may be grounds for doing so, and following up with a lawsuit. Contact me if interested to discuss the facts, and wisdom of filing suit. |
|
Read More Answered By: MARK GEYER |
Re: racial slur Dear Questioner: 1. The workplace is, by both State and Federal laws, supposed to be such that racial and or ethnic "slurs" are prohibited. Certain exceptions apply. 2. Without knowing the "context" of the slur, or whether or not it can be authenticated, no determination can be made as to the appropriateness of bringing suit. 3. If this is a very large employer with a full time HR staff, that is info that we would need to know. 4. Is there an employee manual or handbook that discusses what to do in the event of harassment or any other form of discrimination? Have you followed the requirements of the employer regarding making notice to a superior or immediate supervisor?
Although what was obviously done is totally reprehensible, you have to, in a large degree, choose your battles to win a war. A complete analysis of your individual situation with all available facts and documents is necessary to advise you to go to a supervisor, or not to do so.
I appreciate the opportunity to have provided this info to you.
Sincerely,
Mark Geyer |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 869
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Huge employer breaking all rules. direct evidence i have a fact finding meeting with...
► Work hostility tape recordings work conversations I want to covertly record...
► Payment If you win a lawsuit and the settlement was agreed on, a due date was made...
► Sexual Harassment I have a female student who reported to me that one of my male...
► Is this considered sexual harassment? I took an assignment from an empolyment...
► Do I have the right to know my accuser? A claim has been filed against me where I...
► Auto Repair Owner wants to trade sex favors for cheap repairs...illegal? I took my...
More Sexual Harassment Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press