California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
3/17/98, 7:10 pm

Legal Question


What recourse do we have for false accusation?

My husband and I work for a small retail store (owner/manager and eight employees). Generally, all employees get along very well and we have a friendly environment. It is not uncommon for us to joke/tease each other. We were all shocked when a female employee stopped coming to work and filed charges of sexual harassment and constructive termination against the owner and two male salespeople (my husband included). She will be suing all three men individually as well as the company itself. She claims that she was detained and touched against her will, had her privacy invaded, and was retaliated against when she complained. She did not complain about any problems on the job, and I can personally remember many times that she participated/initiated some off-color jokes herself. My husband and I are both very upset about these accusations. Does he have the right to sue for slander, defamation of character, or malicious prosecution? Do I have the right to sue for intentional infliction of emotional distress because my husband was accused?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search