California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
10/28/09, 1:08 am

Legal Question


There was no 'sexual abuse' category so I chose 'sexual harassment' instead.

Is there a law against a step-father committing sexual abuse against his 22-year-old mentally disabled step-daughter? She is both schizophrenic and has Asperger's Sydrome and is on SDI. The abuse involved inappropriate touching, staring, and remarks. I think there is more going on than I know about, because several years before that a social worker visited our home due to a statement his daughter made about him doing something similar.


question bubble
11/02/09, 2:48 am

Legal Answer


You may report such abuse to adult protective services and/or law enforcement -- especially inappropriate touching. You might also talk with folks at the regional center about how to proceed.

Robert F. Cohen

Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
P.O. Box 15896
San Francisco, CA 94115-0896

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search