California  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
2/07/05, 9:50 pm

Legal Question


sexual harassment by co-worker with no supervisor discipline taken

I work in a small office with a total of five employees, we are only one small department in a large company. There are two co-workers who often make sexual banter and jokes which offend me and in recent months they include me and offend me despite my request to stop. One of them often makes sexual suggestions to me and comments on my body or tells me he wants to do things with me. I have told him to stop. It became so bad that I reported it to my supervisor. She said she would deal with it but never acted. I reported it again with a witness. She took no action. I reported it three more times with a witness and still no action has been taken. We have no complaint forms or policy book that I have been given to inform me of what else I can do. Lately I have had to call in sick or request another person to stay late in order to avoid working with the offensive co-workers. I want to quit but can't afford to and want to know what rights and compensation I am entitled to at this point. Can I get unemployment? I only work part-time and my complaints were made verbally, not written, to the same supervisor each time. I am very embarrassed and don't feel I can talk to anyone else about this problem? Should I file a lawsuit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search