California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Sexually Harassed/Terminated
I worked at a hotel & at one point an executive/director began sending me flirtatious emails to which I did respond to. They did become graphic/explicit & after a short period of time they did stop, more details but not enough room to explain. After several wks of no contact, this man sexually harassed me by exposing himself and putting my hand on his groin area. I was intimidated by his position/felt at fault bc of the emails & after a week or so I told the assistant GM and asked for confidentiality. The next day the man harassed me again, & this time I asked him if he thought what he was doing wrong; that i did & that it should stop. he said he didn't know. on fri. i went to HR, only to find out that HR knew since thurs. (AGM told them)& had been waiting for me to tell them. i told them everything; about the emails, etc. the man had a history of harassing & i gave them names of other girls; they told me to keep quiet about that. 5 days later he was fired for something unrelated, & yesterday I was fired for misuse of company time/violation of policy w/ computer usage. As for the allegations-they said that any & all acts were consentual & i was a willing participant. i consented to email; not to being violated. what do i do?


