California | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Wrongfully acused of sexual harrassment
I was brought into the HR department today about a sexual harassment charge against me by an HR employee. First, I thought I understood why I was in there. I had made a comment that could have been perceived in two different ways. I perceived it one way as well as 50% of the folks that were there. This HR person perceived it another way. I think it was mistaken because she is from another country and has difficulty translating certain things. My company was having a team building event that involved some beer after hours. That is when I made this comment. I also made another comment to coworker friend of mine that this HR person overheard. When the HR person had no idea what this comment was, she demanded I tell her. After four attempts of not telling her, I was forced to tell her about a skit that I was referring to on ''Mad TV.'' Well, that is what I thought I was going to the HR office for, but when I got there I found out that it was because of something this HR employee had made up as well as the rest of my comments. I was then written up for Sexual Harassment and had to sign something. Do I have any defense against her made up comment or that I was forced into explaining what was overheard? Please help!


