California | Social Security Law
Legal Question
Common Usage and Social Security
Hello!
At 16 years of age my husband changed his first name, not through legal routes, but through common useage.
In 2005, at age 37, he went to DMV to renew his license and ran into problems.
He has pay stubs, tax forms, our marriage license, etc. all in this name, and obviously has gone by it for the last 23 years!
Do we have to go through the courts for a legal change, or does something else apply because of all the time that has passed?
What can be done to rectify this with DMV?
Is there another avenue to persue with Social Security?
I had to go through 2 name changes when we married. All I had to do was show my old name, to the new name, to the married name. That was in 2002 though, so I'm thinking something must have changed since.
Thank you for your time!


