California  |  Social Security Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/07/11, 4:19 pm

I have been divorced for 4 years and up to now have kept my former husband's last name. I would now like to legally change my name, but not to my maiden name, which was awkward to spell and pronounce. I have chosen a completely new name. How do I make this change legal? Just fill out a form at the social security office, or is there something else, legally speaking? Thanks, Sandra

2 Answers


Answered on: 5/07/11, 4:23 pm by James Goff

In order to legally change your name other than when you marry or divorce, you must file a petition with your local court to change your name. This requires publication in order to determine that the name change is not an attempt to avoid creditors. You can obtain forms online or through your local bar association.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


James R. Goff, Attorney at Law P.O. Box 6873 Laguna Niguel, CA 92607

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/14/11, 4:48 pm by Rodney Mesriani

In changing your name, other than as a consequence of change of marital status, you need to file a petition in court, stating the reason why you are requesting for a change of name. This also requires publication to give notice to the public and to make sure that you are not changing your name to escape legal obligations.

We understand your situation and we believe that your case should be given a more thorough evaluation in order to be sure that you get the maximum relief, granted your situation. Accordingly, we would be willing to discuss your case and give you a free consultation to make sure that you are aware of all the important facts surrounding your case, as well as all your legal options to pursue your claim. Feel free to call us at (310) 826-6300. You may also visit our website at http://www.mesrianilaw.com for our firm’s background information.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Mesriani Law Group 510 Arizona Ave. Santa Monica, CA 90401

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search