California  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
8/13/09, 11:11 pm

Legal Question


Hi,

I was brought to the United States by my parents when I was about 10 years old (I am now 17, 6 months away from being 18). I am an honor roll student in a gifted program, as well as an illegal immigrant. Both of my parents and my two older brothers are illegal immigrants as well. My father has applied for social security, appeared in court, and the judge did not grant citizenship for him. I, on the other hand, have lived here in the United States for the majority of my life and I AM AN AMERICAN! My parents have tried everything to get my dad his SSN including paying taxes for the past 3 years to the IRS even though we get absolutely no benefits and nothing from the government. However, since my dad's appeal for SSN was not granted, I am here asking how I, as a minor (or in 6 months an adult), can apply for permanent resident here in the United States, as well as an SSN, and green card, workers permit, etc! I know that before those come along, the first thing I would need to do is apply for a permanent residency status here in the US. The name of the forms that must be filled, the places I must go, the people I must speak to, anything and everything would be a huge help for me to become a citizen here in the US because I am going on to college soon and hoping to make a difference in the world and in the US with the smarts the I have been given.

Thank you so very much for answering to this.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search