Legal Question in Social Security Law in California

My husband who is incarcerated, won a settlement from a court case. He couldn't cash the check because of his incarceration so he chose to have the lawyers re-issue it in my name...We have now come to the end of our marriage and he wants "his" cash back I don't have a prblem doing this but before I do I just want to know from a 'legal' standpoint possession is nine tenths of the law right? I should also add that I am in fear of him when I return the money because I have used some of it for myslf (and for all of his needs too) does he have a legal right to come after me? How could I put that money away for a while and let it gain the most interest?

Asked on 5/23/10, 8:30 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Actually it depends on what the settlement was for. In California, personal injury settlements and recoveries for injuries that occur during marriage are community property.

Read more
5/29/10, 9:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now