California  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
12/26/07, 1:14 pm

Legal Question


Social Security Survivor's Benefits

My husband is 11.2 years older than

I. He has worked full-time for 35+

years, and is fully vested for SS. I

have been able to work only

sporadically because of a disability, so

my lifetime earnings are very low,

but I have been unable to qualify for

SSI or SSDI. If he predeceases me

before I turn 62, will I receive any

benefits at all from his years of

contributions? We put everything we

can into a 401K, but it is not

projecting out to be enough to live on

without the benefit of my husband's

SS. My doctor doubts that I would be

able to work full-time, and I am very

frightened at the prospect of being

unable to consistently support myself

if something were to happen to my

husband before I reach retirement

age, especially if I were without

medical insurance. I'd be grateful for

any information you could provide

about our options. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search