California  |  Social Security Law

question bubble
3/18/08, 4:50 pm

Legal Question


SSI and money from Grandmother

My son is 19 and disiabled. He has been on SSI since he was about 2. My mother passed away in November. She had an account setup with both of their names and her social security number with $10000. The bank now will be putting the money into my son's name with his social security number. The money is either for him to attend college (which he is not ready to do yet) or for a downpayment on a house in the future. What can I do so that he doesn't have to spend the money to insure that he continues his benefits? I'm not sure if any of SS's programs would cover this as an exemption of resources. Thank you!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search