Legal Question in Tax Law in California

My husband and I separated last year, I had a feeling he was going to try to file a joint return, even though I clearly told him I would not sign or consent to a joint return. Even though I had no income to report, I decided to file a tax return under married filing separately, to protect myself, just in case. I have just received a letter from the IRS stating that I filed -two- tax returns for 2012, one married filing separately and one married filing jointly! They are asking if I did submit more than one return for 2012, my filing status, if one was intended for a different year (it wasn't) and there is a space for other reasons for filing two income tax returns. How do I respond to this? And what can I do about my soon to be ex-spouse filing a joint return with out my consent?

Asked on 6/13/13, 1:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Christian Rodi Pollock
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Why not tell them the truth? Explain exactly what happened.

Read more
Answered on 8/01/13, 6:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now