California | Tax Law
Legal Question
I am planing to get married soon. but my fiance owes money to the irs, Can the irs take my returns, sell my house or attach my wages?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
You should speak with a tax advisor about this issue. Wages earned during a marriage become community property, which might be susceptible to a levy to the extent of a spouse's interest in them. Property accumulated before a marriage are the person's sole property, unless they're transferred or title is changed. Commingling of community assets with separate property assets changes the nature of the property and could make them susceptible to a levy as well. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Donald L. Field, Jr., Attorney at Law
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 837
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Burton Law Firm
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-27
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
WILLIAM A. BRANDWEIN, A PROFESSIONAL LAW CORP.
Monterey, CA
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-26
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Mark Muntean, Attorney at Law
Berkeley, CA
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-25
HONG & MASHAL, LLP
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Lee & Moheban
West Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-17
Search Questions and Answers


