California  |  Telecomm Law

question bubble
6/05/09, 10:33 pm

Legal Question


Domain name & email ownership.

I suggested that the email system at

the company where I work was too

confusing & complicated to use.

I proposed setting up a new email

system. The CEO of my company

agreed & we chose an appropriate

domain name together. I purchased

2 domains using my own money.

The CEO was aware that I used my

own money & registered them in my

name. He did not offer to

compensate me or ask me to register

the domains under my company's

name. I have emails to prove this.

I spent several days setting up

individual emails using Google

business applications & importing all

emails & contacts from my

company's old email accounts. I

deleted all information from the

old accounts as requested by my

company.

The new system has been

working without a single problem for

5 months. I have still not been

compensated for the purchase of the

domains.

If I were to leave my company would

I be within my rights to change the

email passwords & request that the

company purchase the domains from

me if they wish to regain access to

emails, contacts etc? Would I be

within my legal rights? & would I be

able to ask for any amount I deem

appropriate?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search