California | Traffic Law
Legal Question
Hello, Regarding A California Traffic Court, Is a person entitled to the right of being seen by a Judge instead of a Commissioner?
I was told that the only difference between the two is that a Judge is elected and a Commissioner is appointed. Otherwise their knowledge and how they get paid are the same. But I was told that I have the right to have someone who the people chose to sit at a bench to make judgements.
There are so many types of courts. Does this apply to traffic courts? I went to court and pleaded "Not Guilty" regarding a no seat belt ticket. I also requested a change of venue to a court that has a Judge. The Commissioner declined my change of venue request. I believe that he said that I do not have the right to a Judge in traffic court.
Thank you for reading my question.
Experienced California Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.
Legal Answer
California law gives jurisdiction over traffic violations to commissioners, have eliminated the right to a jury trial.
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law 152 N. Third Street, Suite 510 San Jose, CA 95112
► Other answers from this attorney

