Legal Question in Traffic Law in California

Can police hide behind walls in parking lots to give moving violations?

Ticketed for rolling a stop sign. I did not, I just didn't linger.

Dead end street, can only turn left. Stop sign for left turn. No other vehicles within several hundred feet. Motorcycle cop in parking lot diagonally across stree, could not see him from road. Stopped briefly, turned and found him coming up on my car shortly thereafter. Said my tires didn't stop rolling.

Can he hide? How could he possible see my tires at that angle? How good are my chances of beating this ticket?

Asked on 7/18/01, 2:13 pm

Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ken Koury Kenneth P. Koury, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Can police hide behind walls in parking lots to give moving violations?

They are allowed to hide but if you take some photos you can try to show that he could not have seen you.

Read more
7/18/01, 11:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now