California  |  Traffic Law

question bubble
8/25/10, 1:36 pm

Legal Question


I got a VC23111 this morning just be because the cigarete ashes flying out the window from the wind. I did not throw anything but the police refuse to be specific about the ashes incident. He only wrote in the ticket "throw burning item". What the fine would be and should i go to court to explain this?


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


question bubble
8/30/10, 4:47 pm

Legal Answer


This section prohibits the discharge or throwing a cigarette lighted or unlighted from a vehicle is a violation of this code section. The blowing of ashes from a cigarette out the window would be a violation of the law. The question is whether or not the police officer could actually see the cigarette ash being blown out the window. Unless the car was stopped the the police officer was next to the window I don't know how he could see a cigarette ash blowing out the window. You can check the Nolo Press book How to Fight Your Traffic Ticket for help in this matter or hire an attorney to either help your ore represent you.

Lyle Johnson

Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law 152 N. Third Street, Suite 510 San Jose, CA 95112

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search