California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/12/06, 6:12 pm

Legal Question


Adding a trust after marraige

If I set up a trust for my grown children after I got re-married, does the spouse have any claim to that trust or any assets in that trust upon my death? Specifically, can I set up a separate trust without my spouse having access to it?


question bubble
2/13/06, 10:27 am

Legal Answer


Re: Adding a trust after marraige

you can dispose of your separate property and 1/2 of community property by will or by trust as you decide. if you have a premarital agreement, it may contain provisions regarding what is and what is not community and separate property.

in any case, you should implement an estate plan as soon as possible. under the laws of intestacy your current wife would receive 1/3 of your separate property and all of your share of community property. if you have an old will from before your marriage (which has not been superceded) she might also take as an "omitted spouse".

Donald Field

Donald L. Field, Jr., Attorney at Law
400 Montgomery Street, 6th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94104-1217

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/20/06, 1:12 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Adding a trust after marraige

I write a lot of trusts and I am an experienced probate attorney. Feel free to contact me to review your estate and get a paln going.

Geoffrey Sutliff

Geoffrey A. Sutliff, Attorney at Law
4401 Hazel Avenue, Suite 265
Fair Oaks, CA 95628

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/12/06, 6:29 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Adding a trust after marraige

Only with your separate property. Community property would allow you to include 1/2 of the CP in it and direct where it will go.

Ken Koenen

Koenen & Tokunaga, P.C.
5776 Stoneridge Mall Rd., Suite 350
Pleasanton, CA 94588

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/12/06, 7:59 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Adding a trust after marraige

It depends upon what assets you use to set up your trust. If you kept your assets that you owned prior to your marriage separate from the assets earned during marriage, then those assets can be used to set up a separate trust for the benefit of your grown children.

I strongly advise you to seek legal counsel to assist you.

Sincerely,

Kai H. Wessels, Esq.

(Tel.: 877-Wessels)

Kai H. Wessels

Law Offices of Kai H. Wessels
333 West Santa Clara Street, Suite 805
San Jose, CA 95113

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search