California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
administration of mother's estate
My mother passed away June, 2001. I am listed as a beneficiary, my brother is the executor of mom's living trust/will. He has refused to give me a copy of the trust, or to administer any assets. He says the only way he will do it is if I sign a waiver to give up my interest in her estate. I have advised my brother of the applicable statues regarding his obligations to me as a beneficiary, but he continues to refuse to provide me with a copy. Attorneys have quoted me a minimum of $5000.00 to pursue this. I can't afford this. Can I file my own ''show cause'' in the county of my mother's residence (and death). How do I proceed?


