California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
I want to amend my revocable trust. The amendment would create a testamentary trust. Does the amendment need to be witnessed by two witnesses, like a will, or does it just require a notary, since it’s a trust?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Kai H. Wessels |
Your question is interesting, but also worrisome. Trusts are frequently established to avoid probate, and yet you want to change your trust to a testamentary trust that usually requires probate. Moreover, normally a testamentary trust is described and established in a will. Yet you want to amend an already established trust.
Based upon these observations, I strongly advise you to contact an attorney to discuss your desired changes to your estate plan. If not done correctly, your changes may simply lead to required court intervention that will result in needless legal fees.
So please contact an attorney before you make any changes to your estate plan.
Sincerely,
Kai H. Wessels, Esq. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Search Questions and Answers


