California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/16/09, 4:18 pm

Legal Question


My brother is the executor of my mothers will. The courts have finalized the estate. It took nearly 3 years. How long do I have to wait to have my brother give me my half of the estate which the will has states ? The Courts finalized everything 5 months ago and I still haven't received anything from my brother. How do I get him to start disbursing the estate? Is there something legally I should do?


question bubble
9/21/09, 1:17 pm

Legal Answer


The estate can't be closed until he files the receipt from you showing you received your portion, so he has some incentive to close it. Call and write his attorney to get it moving, and if need be, you can file a petition in the probate court to force the distribution.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search