California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
7/21/09, 12:25 am

Legal Question


Childrens rights

My Mom died in 2006, She and my Dad have approx 10 million in property, etc. My Mom always stated she had a will, however, my Dad has said she didn't, I called the attorney and was told same. However, my mom had written out her wishes on a paper that she signed, and my Dad, myself, and others have all agreed she did write it and sign it. In addition, my Dad told me and several other members of my family that he intended on keeping the promise he made to my Mom to honor what she had written. She had stipulated that she wanted her half of their estate to be given out by 2 year anniversary of her death. This time has came and went, but my Dad hasn't done this, and has no intention of doing it. Do I have any rights to make him answer to a court of law or is there anything at all I can do about this. My Dad had kids before me, who he had with my Mom, she was married to him almost 45 years and I have strong suspicion that everything will go to them after his death and my brother and I will get nothing. My Dad has seemingly abandoned us but favors his kids he had with first wife, who he was only married to about 4 years, over 45 years ago. Isn't my Mom entitled to will, what was her hard earned half, of all their assets.?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search