California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
A out of date will vs. possession of property.
My Mother is terminally ill. I moved in her house 6 months ago to care for her. Her will, which was done in 1986, states that my brother and I split everything 50/50 and he was named executor. Last week my mother added my name to her savings account, checking account and I am the beneficiary on her annuity. Since I am living in the home as a permanent residence, does that give me possession if my name is added to the deed? My mother feels I should get what ever she has and by putting my name on everything makes it mine after her death? The will has not been revised and I am afraid my brother will make me sell the home for his 50%. I wish to continue living in it as I have a 12 year old daughter that I do not want to uproot again. We gave up our previous home to live here and don't want to risk loosing this one. It's paid for and my brother is not a ''nice'' man and would definitely demand us to move or give him 50% of the value. My Mom thinks my name being on all titles, etc. gives me possession of it and he can't do anything to gain it or the bank accounts. I'm not so sure?
Sincerely,
Will not fight back!


