California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/01/09, 6:45 pm

Legal Question


Can distribution from a by-pass trust be made from the principal to the heirs prior to the death of the living spose?


question bubble
10/02/09, 3:06 pm

Legal Answer


It usually can, with the living spouse's consent or disclaimer. There's a tiny chance the trust may disallow it, so it should be reviewed to ensure any distribution is done according to the trust terms and conditions.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search