California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/17/09, 7:19 pm

Legal Question


my domestic partner died in 2008...he left no will or trust of any kind. we have been domestic partners with the City of Berkeley since 1995 ..although we lived in Oakland....have two children...aged 21 & 13. he purchased a home in 2006..and two vehicles...he is the only name on the deeds, title, etc and he also left money at two different banks with no beneficiary. i paid for all funeral arrangements even though we pre-paid for the cemetary costs...

my question is: who inherits my husbands estate and what are my options and where do i go from here? my friends are telling me that i need to file probate? is this very expensive?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search