Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in California

Can the executor of an estate force someone to pay expenses out of their half of a life insurance death benefit? The executor and myself are the 2 sole parties named on the life insurance policy. Can she withhold my half at her discretion?

Asked on 4/01/12, 3:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michele Cusack Pollak & Cusack
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you are a named beneficiary on the policy, it is not part of the estate and the company should pay out your share only directly to you.

Read more
Answered on 4/02/12, 8:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now