California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My father has illegitimate children and does not want to leave them anything. What should he do?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: George Shers |
Under California law, children born out of wedlock have the same rights to inherit, etc, as those born in marriage. Soin any trust or Will he must state their names, mother's name, that he realizes he is their father, and that, for whatever reason, he leaves them one dollar but nothing if they contest the legal instrument in any fashion.
However, he needs to remember that it was not the children who are at fault and he bears moral and legal responsibility for their existence [including child support even if their mother never asked for any]. Why punish the children and embitter them for something they had no control over [even if they dislike him now, do they have justification for that?]. Moreover, when he dies it is you and your siblings who will bear the brunt of any emotional trauma and ill will from the disherited ones, not him. If anyone lives outside of California, the law might be different. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Search Questions and Answers


