California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/11/13, 10:54 am

my father recently passed away leaving property and other assets in his name and his wife of 20 years (not our mother). we live in california. Are we as his children entitled to any of his assets?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/11/13, 11:43 am by Victor Waid

The answer to your question, will be determined by the type of title the property is so designated, ie joint tenancy, with right of survivorship to the remaining person, or a will dispositive provisions or a trust dispositive provisions. I suggest you engage the services of a probate attorney to investigate the matter, to determine how the title to the properties is held and maybe file a petition into probate court to administer the estate. You children may have rights to inherit property by reason of statutory sucession.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Victor Waid 777 Campus Commons Rd., Suite 200 Sacramento, CA 95825

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/11/13, 12:12 pm by Jennifer Rouse

In addition to what Mr. Waid says about titling and estate planning documents, how the assets are distributed depends on where your father resided at the time of his death. It is not clear form your question whether your father also resides in California or if just you children reside in California. The residency of the heirs does not matter for distribution purposes.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Meissner Joseph & Palley 1555 River Park Drive, Ste 108 Sacramento, CA 95815

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/11/13, 12:46 pm by Anthony Roach

You mention where you live, but you don't mention anything that gives California jurisdiction, such as property he owned that is in California, or even state that he resided here at the time of his death. Those jurisdictional questions really determine where you should post this question.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search