California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/09/13, 7:14 pm

What form do I file in California Probate Court to compel the trustee to supply a complete accounting of the trust?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/09/13, 8:03 pm by Anthony Roach

You request an accounting in a letter. If the trustee refuses, you will have to file an appropriate petition, however there is no form. It is prepared on pleading paper.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/09/13, 8:21 pm by Victor Waid

Agreed with Mr Roach, and it seems to me you would be advised to obtain the assistance of probate litigation counsel.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Victor Waid 777 Campus Commons Rd., Suite 200 Sacramento, CA 95825

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/09/13, 10:59 pm by Charles Perry

If the trustee refuses a proper demand for an accounting, then the beneficiary has a right to file a petition with the appropriate court to compel the accounting from the trustee, pursuant to Probate Code Section 17200. There is no form -- you must prepare the petition by hand, showing the facts entitling you to the accounting.

The requirements here are strict. There is usually an attorney who works for the court to make sure you have done everything correctly, and you will not get your order for an accounting until every requirement has been fully complied with. I have seen more cases than you can imagine that get held up because of these technicalities, and there is continuance after continuance as a result. You really should hire probate and estate counsel to assist you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search