California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/16/09, 1:44 pm

Legal Question


Good Morning,

My husband and I have been married for 30 years, but separated for 10 years. He still lives in the home we purchased in 1979.

If I quick claim the home to him will I still have rights in the home?

Does he have the right to will the home to whom ever he please ?

How does Quick-Claim work?


question bubble
9/16/09, 2:07 pm

Legal Answer


No, the quitclaim deed releases any rights you have in the property to the grantee (your husband). He is then free to do what he wishes with it. If your intent is different, you'll have to get it in writing in an enforceable form, and should have an attorney prepare it.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search