California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
12/08/09, 10:40 am

Legal Question


My husband put his ranch that he had aquired 20 yrs ago into a living trust after we were married a year ago, leaving the property to his two sons upon his death. The property has a fairly rough road and water system and only a couple primitive outbuildings. We are planning to build our dream home there within 3yrs. My concern and question is, what about all the hard manual work and money that I contribute to this property and home? I have three sons and feel that all my contributions should have some value in the end as well. Does the living trust override community property laws in the state of California? Maybe I am confusing divorce laws with wills and trusts...but I always thought that any values or assets gained during a marriage were 50/50. Any advice is appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search