California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/16/13, 10:39 am

I live in washington state and received a subpoena for a civil action in California. Do I have appear and what happens if I don't appear?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/16/13, 10:42 am by Scott Jordan

What is the subpoena for? To appear as a witness at a trial? For records? Generally, you cannot be compelled to appear in California if you live in Washington.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Jordan Law Office 319 Diablo Road, Suite 202 Danville, CA 94526

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/16/13, 11:13 am by Joel Selik

Is it a California only subpoena, or did they get your state's court order also? Usually, out of state are required to appear only within 75 miles of their own residence.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


www.SelikLaw.com Box 1448 San Diego And Las Vegas, CA 92079

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/17/13, 2:30 pm by Anthony Roach

Thank you for posting an actual interesting and important legal question today. Some of the others have gotten on my nerves.

The law that Mr. Selik mentions, the 75 mile rule, applies to parties, and party affiliated witnesses. A party affiliated witness is someone like an employee to a company that has been named in the suit.

It sounds to me like you are a true nonparty, however. If a nonparty witness lives in another state, his or her attendance at a deposition can only be compelled under the law of the jurisdiction in which the deposition is to occur. A commission is often required to achieve this. A commission is a request from a California court to a court in another jurisdiction, asking for that foreign courtís assistance in facilitating the process of the California proceeding. (Code Civ. Proc., sect. 2026.010.)


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search