California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Living Trusts and Taxes
I want to create a joint trust for my wife and I, so that our assets go to my wife (if I die first) or to me (if she dies first) & then to my son. Or, if my wife and I die simultaneously then directly to my son. I've heard that you avoid estate taxes by using beneficiary designations on insurance, IRAs etc. & community property with a right of survivorship. But, if I name my wife beneficiary (or she names me), there are no arrangements for my son if both my wife and I die at the same time. (I don't want to die ''intestate'' or have a will dragged through probate.)
Is there a trust arrangment that will allow us to direct our assets to the surviving spouse first, and then to our son, while avoiding estate taxes completely?


