California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/19/09, 8:08 pm

Legal Question


In my mom will she name me and my 3 siblings as beneficaries. My question is if i should pass, would my share go to my childrens? Although it was not stated in the will, just said should be divided equally.


question bubble
9/21/09, 1:18 pm

Legal Answer


The answer depends on the will's wording, but the default position under the law is that your share would go to your children if you predeceased your mother.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/21/09, 3:16 pm

Legal Answer


I concur with Mr. Johnson, but it is certainly suggestive that you draw up your own estate planning documents to ensure that your estate is passed along properly as well.

If you would like to discuss this matter further in a more private forum, please feel free to contact me directly at the email address provided by LawGuru or through our firm’s website located at PasadenaEstatePlanning.com

IMPORTANT:

No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. You may not rely in any way on this communication, and nothing herein constitutes legal advice nor legal opinion. Your issue may be time-sensitive and may result in a loss of rights if you do not obtain an attorney immediately.

Scott Linden

Scott H. Linden, Esq. 1510 Cotner Ave Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search