California  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
9/21/09, 1:06 pm

Legal Question


My mother is elderly and in the hospital incapacitated. It looks like she will be moving out of her home and into a boarding house to take care of her personal and medical needs. I am her son and looking to temporarily take over her affairs ( i.e..., mortgage payment, bank accounts, bill payment, handle/liqidate personal assets). In the near future I would like to get a will drawn up for her so these types of affairs can be handled with expedience.


question bubble
9/21/09, 1:12 pm

Legal Answer


If she still has mental capacity to understand her desires and the effect of the documents she's signing, she can sign a will. She should also consider powers of attorney for finances and health to allow you or other designated agents to take care of her needs if she's incapacitated.

Chris Johnson

Christopher B. Johnson, Attorney at Law 790 East Colorado Boulevard, Ninth Floor Pasadena, CA 91101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search