California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/08/13, 4:59 pm

When is it necessary to have a real estate appraisal for estate planning.

3 Answers


Answered on: 10/08/13, 5:58 pm by Victor Waid

At the time you plan the estate, so as to give you some idea of the value of the assets your estate/trust will be distributing in the future; however, the date of death of the trustor, you, would be the date, theappraised value of any gifts of assets would be used, to establish the value, to comply with trust provisions and applicable tax rules, if any.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Victor Waid 777 Campus Commons Rd., Suite 200 Sacramento, CA 95825

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/08/13, 8:54 pm by William Christian

Whenever you need an accurate value. This may be for planning purposes, but often this can be accomplished with estimates or brokerrs opinions. You should have a appraisal to back up your valuation if you are making gifts.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rodi Pollock 444 S Flower St Los Angeles, CA 90071

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/08/13, 9:30 pm by Thomas Reid

For purposes of estate planning, an actual appraisal is rarely necessary. You may want to have an asset appraised if you are on the verge of owing estate taxes. Short of that an appraisal is probably not necessary.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Happe Reid, PC 9722 Fair Oaks Blvd, Ste D Fair Oaks, CA 95628

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search