California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Am I responsible for paying for my fathers debts after he is gone?
What happens when a person dies and owes tons (over 75 thousand) dollars in credit card, car loans, hospital bills and collection agencies? What if the person has no money or collateral to pay off these debts? Does the next of kin have to take over the debt or is it just erased? Thank you in advance for your response, your really helping me put me at ease. I have no extra money to pay for my father’s irresponsibility’s. I should probably mention that he has not passed away yet but is terminally ill. He is not married so me and my brother would be next of kin. Also I'm in CA and he is in Oregon. Most of his debt occurred while we has in CA.


