California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
What are the Settler's rights, limits in disposing assets, and responsibilities to the beneficiaries in a revocable family trust?
What are the Settler's rights, limits in disposing assets, and responsibilities to the beneficiaries in a revocable family trust?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
They're pretty much unlimited. The settlor may do everything with his/her property as would be done as if the property were not in a trust. The settlor as the initial trustee may also dispose of real property during his/her lifetime. They just no longer will be in the trust at the time it is to be administered. The beneficiaries have no present interest in the trust, but only an expectation of a testamentary gift conditioned upon the settlor's death. The word "revocable" means that the trust could even be revoked during the settlor's lifetime. |
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Mccoy |
The Settlor cannot cause property of the estate to be held in perpetuity; the property must eventually be conveyed to something or someone. The Settlor cannot condition conveyance of property upon the commission of a criminal act or an act that would violate public policy. For example, the Settlor cannot say, the property will go to Bill Smith only if he kills his wife. The Settlor cannot convey something that he does not have at the time of the conveyance. For example, the Settlor cannot convey a 1998 Cadillac to John Doe, if, at the time of the Settlor's death, the Settlor no longer owns the 1998 Cadillac. The Settlor cannot require a beneficiary to accept a conveyance or to comply with any conditions of a conveyance a beneficiary chooses to reject. For example, if the Settlor requires a beneficiary to pay off the balance on the house before the beneficiary gets title to the house, the beneficiary can choose to not accept title to the house, and therefor not be required to pay off the balance of the house. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
► Hello, My boyfriend did a will from legal zoom living will and trust. He filled it...
► I presently own a house.I will buy a new house with borroed money from my mother and...
► I presently own a house . My mother is loaning me money to buy another house until I...
► In California as a spouse I am responsible for my husband's business. I work helping...
► A trust states myself and 1 brother can stay free at a house for 1 year. After 3...
► Question: My mother is elderly and in the hospital incapacitated. It looks like she...
► My mother is elderly and in the hospital incapacitated. It looks like she will be...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press